Illinois Concealed Carry

16 Hour Concealed Carry

Firearms class 101

Who is this course for? 

This is for the general public who wishes to gain knowledge about safety gun law.

FAQs

What does the firearms training course consist of?

A 16-hour training course must -- at a minimum -- cover the following topics:

  • Firearms Safety - a minimum of 1 hour;
  • Basic Principles of Marksmanship - a minimum of 1 hour;
  • Care, Cleaning, Loading and Unloading of a Concealable Firearm - a minimum of 1 hour;
  • All Applicable State and Federal Laws Relating to the Ownership, Storage,
  • Carry and Transportation of a Firearm (including but not limited to the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm) - a minimum of 2 hours; and
  • Weapons Handling - a minimum of 1 range hour.

All applicants must pass a live-fire exercise with a concealable firearm consisting of:

  1. A minimum of 30 rounds.
  2. 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards, 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards, and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards, fired at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the ISP.

Is there a minimum age requirement for this class?

There is no age requirement for the course, however; you must be 21 to apply for a concealed carry permit in the state of Illinois.

Do I need to have a FOID card before I take this class?

NO. A FOID is not required to take the course, however; you must have a FOID to obtain a CCW permit. Click Here! if need help obtaining FOID Card

8 Hour Concealed Carry

Shooting Range

Who is this course for? 

Individuals who are active or ex-military (DD214 needed) as well as ex-police ( law enforcement  certification training needed)

FAQs

 

3 Hour Concealed Carry

AdobeStock_213278396

Who is this course for? 

Individuals who currently hold an ILCCL and are subject to renewal.

FAQs

What does the 3 Hour Course cover?

All applicable state and federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm.

Weapon Handling;

a. Handgun fundamentals

b. Handgun concealment

c. Live fire qualification instruction

d. Live fire qualification with a concealable firearm consisting of a minimum of 30 rounds which must include 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police.

CONTACT

ILLINOIS CONCEALED TRAINING

Get in touch to get a question answered,
upcoming training, or just to connect.

Section 15. Objections by law enforcement agencies.

(a) Any law enforcement agency may submit an objection to a license applicant based upon a reasonable suspicion that the applicant is a danger to himself or herself or others, or a threat to public safety. The objection shall be made by the chief law enforcement officer of the law enforcement agency, or his or her designee, and must include any information relevant to the objection. If a law enforcement agency submits an objection within 30 days after the entry of an applicant into the database, the Department shall submit the objection and all information related to the application to the Board within 10 days of completing all necessary background checks.
(b) If an applicant has 5 or more arrests for any reason, that have been entered into the Criminal History Records Information (CHRI) System, within the 7 years preceding the date of application for a license, or has 3 or more arrests within the 7 years preceding the date of application for a license for any combination of gang-related offenses, the Department shall object and submit the applicant's arrest record, the application materials, and any additional information submitted by a law enforcement agency to the Board. For purposes of this subsection, "gang-related offense" is an offense described in Section 12-6.4, Section 24-1.8, Section 25-5, Section 33-4, or Section 33G-4, or in paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 12-6.2, paragraph (2) of subsection (b) of Section 16-30, paragraph (2) of subsection (b) of Section 31-4, or item (iii) of paragraph (1.5) of subsection (i) of Section 48-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012.
(c) The referral of an objection under this Section to the Board shall toll the 90-day period for the Department to issue or deny the applicant a license under subsection (e) of Section 10 of this Act, during the period of review and until the Board issues its decision.
(d) If no objection is made by a law enforcement agency or the Department under this Section, the Department shall process the application in accordance with this Act.

Scroll to Top